Concealed Carry Application Process
In order for an Ohio resident to apply for and obtain a concealed carry license, they must meet and follow the requirements listed below, as specified in ORC 2923.1235(A).
Applicant must have completed:
A. The required training within 3 years prior to the date of application.
B. Have obtained prior equivalent training through experience as a member of the US military or designated law enforcement agency, and retired or been honorably discharged from above, within 6 years prior to the date of application.
The applicant must be:
A. At least 21 years of age.
B. An Ohio resident for 45 days and a resident of County of Application, or adjacent county, for 30 days.
Applicant must present at the time of application
A. Completed application
B. Color photo (must be 2″ X 2″ passport photo size) of applicant taken within 30 days
C. Valid identification
D. Certificate of competency or prior equivalent documentation
Applicant must attest to:
A. Applicant has received and read OPOTC pamphlet.
B. Hand gun shall be carried in a lawful manner.
Applicant must submit to:
A. Having fingerprints electronically scanned
B. Having fingerprints inked and rolled onto fingerprint card
Applicant must pass:
A background check to determine:
1 If applicant meets age requirements
2 If applicant meets resident requirements
3 If applicant has a criminal record, EXCLUDING expunged records (Federal, State, and Local)
4 If applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent
Applicant must pay at time of application:
A. Nonrefundable fee of $67.00 or $91.00 (cash or money order only)
Within 45 days of date of application, applicant shall be notified by mail that either:
A. application is approved and time and date license may be picked up
B. Application is denied and reason for denial
Applicant wishing to contest a denial may follow denial process