Patrol Division

The Patrol Division consists of 22 patrol deputies, 3 patrol sergeants, 3 patrol lieutenants and the Patrol Division Commander, Capt. Jeff LeCocq. These deputies are the primary law enforcement responders for 25 townships in the county and secondary responders for 5 villages. They are empowered with the same authority as the Sheriff when they are sworn, giving them jurisdiction anywhere in Muskingum County, including all villages and cities.

This division consists of deputies assigned to one of three shifts. They handle the initial response to 911 calls and dispatched calls for service from the public. Patrol is the most visible police presence in the community. It is their job to provide primary law enforcement services to the public 24 hours a day, each and every day of the year.

The Patrol Division responds to numerous incidents, including: criminal complaints, civil complaints, deaths, missing persons, 9-1-1 hang up calls, alarms, animal complaints, house/business checks, motorist assist, traffic control, accidents both public and private property, lost or recovered property, and numerous other non-criminal related activities.

If you would like to acknowledge outstanding service you received from one of our deputies or if you would like to file a complaint, please contact Capt. Jeff LeCocq at (740) 452-3637 or by email below.


Patrol Division Commander: Capt. Matt McCauley

Day Shift (7am – 3pm): Lt. Ryan Williams , Sgt. Kyle Colopy

Afternoon Shift (3pm – 11pm): Lt. Joe Wilson , Sgt. Ryan Dodson

Night Shift (11pm – 7am): Lt. Wade Kanavel , Sgt. Brodie Brewer